NBA defensive player of the year winners:

NBA defensive player of the year winners:

NBA defensive player of the year winners: The NBA Defensive Player of the Year Award has been awarded annually by the NBA since 1983. The winner selects by a group of 24 sports journalists both in the United States and Canada, each voting for the first, second and third place.

NBA defensive player of the year winners:

Each election in the first place counts 5 points, in the second it is 3 and in the third 1. The player with the highest sum of total points, despite the number of votes in the first position, wins the prize.

Since its creation, a total of 16 players have won. Dikembe Mutombo and Ben Wallace are the players who have been awarded the most times, with 4 prizes each. 3 followed by Dwight Howard, with 3 and Mark Eaton, Sidney Moncrief, Alonzo Mourning, Dennis Rodman, Hakeem Olajuwon, Kawhi Leonard and Rudy Gobert, with 2 awards each.

Michael Jordan, Hakeem Olajuwon, David Robinson and Kevin Garnett are the only players to win this award and the MVP of the Season throughout their respective careers. Read more about NBA here.

But who is the NBA defensive player of the year 2018-19?

Rudy Gobert:

Matches played: 81

Points per game: 15.9

Rebounds per game: 12.8

Caps per match: 2.3

NBA defensive player of the year winners
NBA Defensive Player

He is a classic in each edition of the Defender of the Year award that makes him the only inside player for nomination. The winner of the prize last year will seek to revalidate it after a great campaign.

Although 5 of the first 6 winners were perimeter players, the award has traditionally been given to big men who rebound and block shots.

NBA Online Betting:

Try your luck on NBA online betting and have lots of fun. NBA is one of the most well-known betting options online for sports betters. Odds Shark offers the best guides and reviews to help your basketball betting.