North Carolina Basketball:

North Carolina Basketball

North Carolina Basketball: North Carolina Tar Heels men’s basketball program is the intercollegiate men’s basketball team from the University of North Carolina at Chaple Hill

Its name is Tar Hills because the inhabitants of the state of North Carolina are famous as “Tar Heels,” and the state nickname Tar Heels State. Tar Heels teams participate in university competitions organized by the NCAA, and they are part of the Atlantic Coast Conference.


In addition to 51 national championships in individual sports, the Tar Heels have won 42 national team championships in five different sports:

Men’s basketball: 7 – 1 Helms Foundation Championships (1924) and 6 NCAA (1957, 1982, 1993, 2005, 2009 and 2017).

Women’s basketball: 1 (1994).

North Carolina Basketball
North Carolina Basketball Team

North Carolina Basketball:

The basketball team has won a total of 6 national NCAA championships. They won the first of them in 1957, with Frank McGuire as a coach and defeating the University of Kansas in the final.

The next one was in 1982, defeating Georgetown in the last game. In 1993, The Tar Heels achieved their third championship against Michigan.

Dean Smith was the coach in the 1982 and 1993 seasons. His fourth championship came in 2005 with Roy Williams as a coach, beating Illinois in the final, and the fifth in 2009, when they won the Michigan State.

They won another national championship in 1924, prior to those organized by the NCAA, when organized by the Helms Foundation. That team won all their matches in the season. Read more about NCAA here.

Honored Jerseys:

Total 41 jerseys are honoring in addition to the 8 retired jerseys. There are 2 players who have been qualified, Joel Berry II and Justine Jackson to have their jerseys honored in the 2017-18 basketball season.

If you are already enjoying basketball betting, and looking for something to make betting more interesting, then you should try Point Spread market. It is a favorite of many as it acts as a headstart or handicap for any particular team.