ASEAN Basketball League :

ASEAN Basketball League

ASEAN Basketball League is more popular as ABL. It is a men’s professional basketball league from Southeast Asia and East. This league includes 6 teams from Southeast Asia Nations, 3 teams from China, and 1 team from Taiwan.

ASEAN Basketball League :

ASEAN Basketball Champions League launched on October 1, 2009, with 6 clubs from 6 different countries of Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN). 

Officials from six ASEAN nationals were gathered in Metro Manila on September 1, 2009, to launch this league officially.

Teams of ASEAN League:

Following is the short introduction of the teams that participating in ASEAN Basketball League:

Westports Malaysia Dragons:

This team is one of the founding teams since its inception in 2009. They are known as fiery uptempo offense and they are one of the strongest franchises in the ABL.

ASEAN Basketball League :The Singapore Slingers :

The Singapore Slingers also have been a part of the ASEAN since its establishment in 2009. They are gradually growing. They have many talents players from a national team such as MVP Wong Wei Long and rising starts Leon Kwek and Delvin Goh.

ASEAN Basketball League
ASEAN Basketball League

The Hong Kong Eastern Basketball Team:

This team is one of the most successful franchises in ABL History with 1 title and 1 Semi-Finals appearance in the first 2 seasons. Their unique style of playing and their coach Coach Edu Torres has entertained many fans at Southern Stadium and they will be continuing the same in this year also.

CLS Knights Indonesia:

This team is one of the most respected basketball nations in the South East Asia region and they have also represented Indonesia in their last year’s debut season.

The Macau Black Bears:

This team is relocated and rebranded from the China-based Chong Son Kung Fu expanded team in the ABL last year. They are now based in Macau and they are the nation’s first professional basketball club.

Alab Philippines:

This team had not disappointed their last season and won their first every ABL Title.

This year, their coach Jimmy Alapag will not allow any other team for complacency this year as they are aiming to be the first team ever to win back-to-back titles in the ABL. Read more about Asean Basketball League here.